Kind British-American family looking for second helper
Very Active

Kind British-American family looking for second helper

British | Family | with 2 adults + 2 kids | 4 - Member

Posted : 1 wk. ago

Job Requirement

Job Description

**No agents please, we are not looking to pay agent fees and have done helper paperwork ourselves in the past

ABOUT US:

  • We're a family of four, a Caucasian-British/Irish husband and a Chinese-American wife plus two young children (14 month old girl, 5 year old boy). Both kids are in childcare from 8am to 5pm on weekdays.
  • We have one experienced older (49 year old) Filipina helper who has been with us since before our baby was born. Her main job is looking after baby and general household chores. She will retire in September 2022.
  • We are looking for a younger (20s to 30s, or a very energetic 40s) helper to join us before our helper retires. We are open to starting a new helper in January to August period. We would like the two helpers to do a transition / training period.
  • Currently, our helper lives in a full-sized bedroom with lots of windows and sunlight and she has her own bathroom. We have one other guest bedroom with en suite bathroom which the new helper can use, unless we have overseas guests visiting. When the guest room is being used, the two helpers will share the large bedroom currently occupied by our helper #1. When our helper retires in September, the new helper will take over her large bedroom with windows and bathroom.
  • We live close to East Coast Park in a 4-bedroom 4-bathroom duplex condo with friendly neighbors whose helpers often help with childcare or supervising the kids' play dates
  • We enjoy going to the beach for walks, cooking and eating different kinds of food, being out and about. We are very physically active.
  • Sir and Ma'am both work full-time and Sir may often travel internationally for work. Twice a year during non-COVID times we go away to the US or the UK to visit our other homes.
  • We have a car, but don't require frequent car washing. Our neighborhood has groceries, kids activities, school are all within walking distance.

WHAT WE'RE LOOKING FOR:

  • Looking for someone who is already in Singapore, looking to transfer employment
  • Ideally someone younger (20s or early 30s) who has energy to keep up with our children and our busy schedules
  • We prefer someone who has dependent children in their home country
  • Someone with minimum 2 years working experience, preferably with a Singaporean-Chinese family
  • Someone positive, cheerful, and willing to learn from us and from our helper #1 during the transition period
  • We offer two Sundays off a month and two Sundays working (paid). OR, you can choose four weekdays off per month. Please choose one set of major public holidays, like all the Christian holidays or all Muslim holidays. 
  • We prefer someone who has childcare experience from newborn age to 5 years old
  • We eat all kinds of food, so experience with cooking Chinese, Southeast Asian, and ability to follow a Western recipe are important
  • Our home language is English but the children also speak Chinese and are learning French

OTHER INFO:

  • Pay is commensurate with experience
  • Annual trips home (non-COVID times) are to be scheduled in coordination between the two helpers so Sir and Ma'am always have help at home
  • Annual 13 month bonus as long as performance is good
  • We pay for food and essential toiletries
  • Other perks depending on performance and personality fit. For example, if travel restrictions loosen and helpers have interest in traveling abroad, we may bring you along for our holidays.
  • We plan to stay in Singapore for the next 10 years and are hoping to find someone to join our family and stay, become part of the family, and be a consistent loving presence for our kids during their childhood

Required Skills / Duties

Report this Job